1. #1 Top |
    Post Thanks / Like

Basic Info for Newbies about Phantom Quad's

So you want a quadcopter?

If you are a complete newcomer to quadcopters then this post is for you.

The Phantom range is perhaps the most popular of the current flock of quadcopters. Currently you have two to choose from but a third is just about to be released. The Phantom Vision +

I own both a Phantom Vision and a Phantom 2 with full FPV. FPV stands for First Person View. That means I can see in real time what the camera sees. My favourite is the Phantom 2 as I have a Zenmuse gimbal that does a good job of stabilising the video.

So lets compare them both so that you are aware of the differences and what makes them tick.

The Phantom Vision

The Vision is often advertised as a one stop shop. It has virtually everything that you need to capture video out of the box. It has an FPV system in that it comes with its own camera mounted on a one axis gimbal. It also comes with one battery and a charger. You have to supply your own smartphone or tablet to receive the video signal from the camera whilst its in flight. The camera is controlled via an app made by DJI. With the app you can tilt the camera, stop and start recordings, control the framerate and exposure settings and take still photos. Its a very neat package and it works quite well.

The Vision uses 2.4ghz to transmit video to your phone and 5.8ghz to transmit flight commands from the supplied hand controller. Your phone mounts to the controller.

The Vision is not without its problems though. A smartphone does not make a particularly good FPV screen as its a little too small. Also the stock antennas do not give you very much range before you lose the picture. Using the touch screen controls are sometimes awkward to use. For me though the biggest problem is the instability of the video footage due to the lack of a proper gimbal.